Before going into the topic, let us introduce you to “gluten” and “gluten intolerance”. Gluten is a type of protein found in wheat, barley and so on. Gluten intolerance is the inability of body to digest or break down the gluten.
It is just one of the many grains that comes with gluten, but there are so many foods with wheat!
Yes, most noodles are not gluten free. (rice noodles and mung bean noodle do not contain gluten!).
Unless specified, crackers do contain gluten!
Since flour is used, they are not safe if you are having gluten intolerance!
Pure oats don’t have gluten, but most processing facilities that process oat also process gluten containing substance like wheat and rye.
Note to gluten free
There are so many more food with gluten, do always read label on food product if it is not marked as “gluten-free”.
- Coeliac Austrialia. (2015). Oats and the gluten free diet [PDF file]. Retrieved 23 December 2019, from https://www.coeliac.org.au/uploads/65701/ufiles/Position_Statements/CAPSOats.pdf
- Faith, D. (2011, January 18). The Oat Conundrum: Are Oats Gluten-Free?. Retrieved 23 December 2019, from https://www.thekitchn.com/the-oat-conundrum-are-oats-glu-137074
- Ryan, R. (2017, December 12). The Gluten-Free Diet: A Beginner’s Guide With Meal Plan. Retrieved 23 December 2019, from https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/gluten-free-diet